Pre Run Snack!

I tried these out energy bites this week! I needed a snack that would work before long runs and trips to the gym in the morning and these were perfect. I used a combination of different recipes from pinterest to come up with something that has some carbs, protein, and is a little bit sweet. They were super easy to make, I just threw everything into the Ninja and pulsed until the dough made a ball, then I stirred in the chocolate chips. Here is what I used but the proportions may be a little off since I didn’t really measure anything, you just want the consistency to be sticky enough that it will hold together.

Energy Bites: (recipe amounts are guesstimates since I didn’t measure!)
1 package of dried pitted dates
3/4 cup of peanut butter (or any other nut butter would probably work)
1 1/4 cup of Old Fashioned Oats
Handful of chocolate chips (I used regular semi sweets, but I will probably use mini chips next time)

I want to try mixing it up with more dried fruit and using different types of dry ingredients like flax seeds or quinoa.

These were the perfect thing before a workout, making them bite sized made it easy to eat 1 or 2 depending on how hungry I felt. I store them in the freezer, but the fridge would probably work fine too. If you try them out let me know what you think and what variations you made:)

2 Gedanken zu “Pre Run Snack!

Kommentar verfassen

